If I Stay Book Review


6990472Title:  If I Stay
Author: Gayle Forman

Genre:  YA, Contemporary
Publisher:  Speak
Publication Date: April 6th, 2010
Paperback:  344 Pages
What It’s About: 17-year old, Mia Hall lives a lovely life with a bright future ahead of her. She is blessed with a loving family, caring boyfriend and musical talent. The Hall’s are  involved in a serious car accident one snowy morning. Mia spends one crucial day making the biggest decision of her life, (besides college) having to choose between life and death.
My Rating: 
What I Thought: I have wanted to read this book for a while, before the movie was announced. I wanted to go into this book without knowing anything about it. I had no clue what the trailer was like, so I was watching television one day and the trailer came on – I was devastated. By knowing the synopsis, I began to become skeptical and I was wrong. This is my first Gayle Forman read and I devoured it. It was written very well, so well that I felt like I was beside Mia. I was glad that this wasn’t just focused on Mia and her coma (which I thought at first). Mia’s memories; the good and bad were told. I was able to get to know the characters very well through the memories Mia shared. This book is really told from Mia’s eyes, I could picture everything she was telling such as Adam getting thrown out, the famous woman singing throughout the waiting room. Although this was a sad book, Gayle made it funny as well. The humor balanced out the sadness. As I said, the writing was amazing I also felt that way at the end of the book. Mia wakes up, and you feel like you’re there seeing her wake up. It was a perfect ending. I rated this a 4/5 because I wasn’t quite sure that it deserved a 5/5.  
I am going to see the movie, I am kind of skeptical but I do hope that not much is taken out. I am also skeptical about reading Where She Went because of *spoiler*. Have you read it? Thoughts?
I also reviewed this on my channel, watch here 
5 thoughts on “If I Stay Book Review

Leave a Reply

