Lola and the Boy Next Door Book Review


booktitleTitle: Lola and the Boy Next Door
Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre:  YA, Contemporary
Publisher:  Speak
Publication Date: July 9th, 2013
Paperback:  338 Pages
What It’s About: “Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the negihborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.” (Goodreads)
My Rating: ★★
review
What I Thought: If I could describe this book in one word it would simply be different. The characters are different, the story is different and that is what I like the most about this book. Lola is raised by two dads which isn’t normal for an average YA book and I was very impressed by that. Andy and Nathan (Lola’s fathers) are hilarious, they made me smile and giggle because of their protectiveness. I tried to picture Andy and Nathan as Cam and Mitchell from the television show ‘Modern Family’ because they were similar in personality and their actions. I love how Stephanie Perkins’ characters all have a passion. For Lola, she had costume designing. Lola is not your typical teenage girl which I thought was fantastic. I loved her mindset . She didn’t care what people thought of her. She wore crazy outfits & wigs and was fully confident wearing them. Lola is such a lovely character, I admired her. I was as skeptical about her boyfriend, Max as Andy and Nathan were. I knew that he would treat her differently because of their age difference which bothered me. I waited on their break-up as the book went on and I cheered when the time came. Cricket was very interesting and I loved him at first sight. I liked how strong his love was for Lola, he literally did everything he could for her. He is amazing. Lola and Cricket’s kiss was awaited, for sure! She grew to open her feelings more for him and finally realized that they had to be together – which I was excited for! Cricket is very unselfish which is a good thing and also a bad thing. I felt bad that his sister had to be the main prority in their families life and they couldn’t see his amazing talent. The inventions he created were amazing (the “bridge” to Lola’s room!!!) but he doubted himself which made me sad for him. But, he does lighten up about it. Lola’s biological mother, I liked that she was introduced because it helped readers learn about their life more. I felt sorry for Nathan and Andy to have to deal with her showing up randomly and being practically homeless. But, she tried to hard to try with Lola specifically when she tries the leave exercise on her – a very mother/daughter scene which made me smile. The ending was perfect, what boy would help his “girlfriend” get ready for a dance like Cricket did? AH! Perfection. Everyone needs a Cricket. I am so in love with this book and enjoyed it quite a lot! What did you think?
Video Review: http://youtu.be/zRN1IA_FH1I
I would love to discuss this in the comments with anyone who wants to!
I review books every Friday. If you have any recommendations, read my Review Policy or take the poll!
12 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next Door Book Review

  1. I LOVE this review! It totally sums up my feelings for the book ^_^ I’m so glad that you have enjoyed it too.
    And your blogging name pucksandpaperbacks is also pretty cool! Is the puck in it from Sisters Grimm?

    Like

Leave a Reply

