Looking for Alaska Book Review


booktitleTitle: Looking for Alaska 
Author: John Green

Genre:  YA, Contemporary
Publisher:  Speak
Publication Date: December 28th 2006
Paperback:  256 Pages
What It’s About:  “Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.After. Nothing is ever the same” (Goodreads)
My Rating: ★★
ATTN: If you haven’t read the book, please do not read below- there will be spoilers!
review
What I Thought: The story behind picking this book up is this: I had started it when I was in 11th grade and never finished it. So, I picked it up again this year and read it, again. I remembered loving it then, and I still have the same feeling now.  Having read all of John’s books (besides Let it Snow) I have to say this was outstanding and different than any of his other books. The characters were different, the story was different which is what I love the most about John, all of his books have different settings, characters and there is not many differences between each book he writes.  Looking for Alaska is actually based on John’s experience at boarding school which makes the story feel realistic.  I was fascinated by the fact Pudge knew many famous last words – which makes him a unique character. Alaska was hardcore and I loved how much Pudge loved her. His love for her was so realistic – it was exactly how it would play out in reality. He did everything she did, never stopped talking about her and just admired her. Ah! It was adorable. What makes Alaska very different than any character is that she was a prankster & was very careless. They were such a cool group of friends and did insane things!  I would have loved to tag along on their stake-out. Okay, so I am just going to go straight into after. I was spoiled that she passed away but I was still curious to how which kept me reading. She was so mysterious and I love mystery which is another reason why I loved this book. Contemporary books with mystery are my guilty pleasure. I loved that the Colonel & Pudge made it their mission to find out how she died which was hilarious. Then they found the daisies which was a perfect reference and I love it so much. I was so distraught when it happened just because of her last words. What are they!!! We don’t know!!! I needed to know what her last words were! I did like that the story continued after the passing of Alaska and it wasn’t just finished after a few pages. I loved that I knew how it affected the whole school which was amazing. So, they decided to pull the Senior Prank early in memory of her which was hilarious! In short, this book gave me everything I love – humor, mystery and contemporary. It was a wonderful book.
I review books every Friday. If you have any recommendations, read my Review Policy.
2 thoughts on “Looking for Alaska Book Review

Leave a Reply

