Eleanor and Park Book Review


booktitleTitle: Eleanor and Park 
Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre:  YA, Contemporary
Publisher:  St. Martin’s Press
Publication Date: February 26th 2013
Hardcover:  328 Pages
What It’s About: “Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try” (Goodreads).
My Rating: ★★
ATTN: If you haven’t read the book, please do not read below- there will be spoilers!
review
What I Thought: As any Rainbow Rowell book I get a hold of I devour it. This book took me two days to read and I enjoyed it very much. One thing I love about Rainbow is that her characters are always relatable or feel realistic. She did that in this book as well. I am not a sixteen year old, but I was one and I could relate to being sixteen and getting bullied because of things that shouldn’t matter and Eleanor experienced the same thing. I think this book has a very powerful message and can help a lot of teenagers who are dealing with the same problems Eleanor had to face. Rainbow Rowell showed that teenagers judge quickly and stereotype when Eleanor set foot on the bus for the first time, Park didn’t even want her near him. It shows not to judge someone based on their appearance because they can amaze you – or you can fall in love with them! I laughed, gasped, & had my eyes glued to this book. It was hard to read during the heavy parts (in Eleanor’s house) and I was very opinionated about her homelife. Terrible is an understatement. I loved Park’s and his family, his mom had me laughing from time to time. Park was so loving and awesome, I would be friends with him hands down! His metaphors made me smile and my heart melt, he compared Eleanor beautifully. My favorite books have bad endings (Paper Towns) and that is why I didn’t downgrade the stars when rating this book. I was completely flabbergasted when the book was over and I was sad but my mind didn’t change. I wanted Park to have taken Eleanor to prom and Eleanor shouldn’t have pushed him away.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it’s bad ending.
I review books on Friday or Saturday’s. If you have any recommendations, read my Review Policy.
One thought on “Eleanor and Park Book Review

Leave a Reply

