Review: This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Thropper


booktitle Title: This is Where I Leave You
 Author: Jonathan Thropper
 Genre:  Adult Fiction
 Publisher:  Baltzer + Bray
Expected Publication Date: April 7th, 2015
 Paperback:  339 Pages
 My Rating: ★☆
This is Where I Leave You

Goodreads Summary: The death of Judd Foxman’s father marks the first time that the entire Foxman family—including Judd’s mother, brothers, and sister—have been together in years. Conspicuously absent: Judd’s wife, Jen, whose fourteen-month affair with Judd’s radio-shock-jock boss has recently become painfully public.

Simultaneously mourning the death of his father and the demise of his marriage, Judd joins the rest of the Foxmans as they reluctantly submit to their patriarch’s dying request: to spend the seven days following the funeral together. In the same house. Like a family.

 

THIS DOESN’T CONTAIN MANY SPOILERS, BUT READ THE LAST PARAGRAPH TO FIND OUT WHY I RATED IT FOUR STARS. 

review
Adult Fiction is out of my comfort zone, completely. With that being said, this book took me a while to read. I kept putting it down and picking it back up….for three months. I’ve wanted to read it since I saw it mentioned on Booktube and I am glad I read it!
Basically…Judd Foxman isn’t having the best luck. He caught his wife; Jen cheating on him with his boss on her birthday & his father just died. Judd is forced to face his family  dysfunctional family while they sit shiva for 7 days – as their father’s request. Judd is stuck in the house he grew up in with his siblings: Wendy, Paul and Phillip. Along with Paul’s wife, Judd’s ex-girlfriend from high school; Alice and Tracey, Phillip’s “fiance”, Wendy’s husband; Barry and their children and their mother, Hilary.
The Foxman’s are your typical dysfunctional family with emphasis on dysfunctional. I laughed out loud numerous times throughout this book because the incidents from the children to the adults were hilarious! My favorite character was definitely Phillip, he brought comic relief to this book. Phillip is the youngest and he is just living life to the fullest, while hooking up with other girls. Every time he came into a scene, I instantly got excited!
Besides Judd’s “relationship” with Jen, he does have a love interest outside of Jen. Her name is Penny Moore. Penny was Judd’s *best* friend in high school. I loved the idea of them and was a little disappointed that they didn’t end up together. Judd went to see Penny whenever something wasn’t working out or he just really wanted to see her. It was so cute! But, Penny was more of Judd’s rebound and she saw that right away.
Although this was fiction, it did feel very realistic. The problems the characters face – Alice, Judd and Jenn – were problems I feel that occur every day; mainly having to do with pregnancy. I’m not sure how I feel about Hilary’s secret, didn’t really have any thoughts on that.
I did enjoy this book because it was hilarious and a good read. I did rate it 4 stars because it took me a little while to read and I just didn’t feel that it deserved 5 stars for my liking. The writing and dialogue was great, I do recommend to read it if you’re interested in the story!
This was turned into a movie! If you want to see a movie review, comment below!

 

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Leave a Reply

