Review: My Life With the Walter Boys by Ali Novak


booktitle Title: My Life with The Walter Boys 
 Author: Ali Novak
 Genre:  Young Adult, Romance
 Publisher:  Sourcebooks Fire
Expected Publication Date: March 1st, 2014
Paperback: 358 Pages
 My Rating: ★★★ ☆ ☆ 
Burn For Burn
Goodreads Summary:

Surprise #1: Jackie’s family dies in a freak car accident.

Surprise #2: Jackie has to move cross-country to live with the Walters-her new guardians.

Surprise #3: The Walters have twelve sons. (Well, eleven, but Parker acts like a boy anyway)

THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER FREE. 
review
Jackie’s family has died in a car accident and she is sent from NYC to live in the country with The Walter Boys; all twelve of them. She starts a new school, meets new friends and is trying to move on from the accident. Sure enough, romance ensues very quickly. If you enjoy love triangles, this may be the read for you.
Jackie has to adapt to living with twelve boys very fast. As she enters the house, they are quick to judge. The little kids aren’t fond of her and pranks start up to…welcome her into the home which will give you a laugh.  The house had a Cheaper By The Dozen feel to it which I enjoyed.
Cole and Alex are the boys to look out for. Cole is the jock who prefers hook-ups over relationships. Alex is a sweet gaming geek with good intentions. They are usually fighting for or over Jackie throughout the book.
I liked bits and pieces of this book but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I anticipated I would. I had a hard time remembering all the characters since the boys and Jackie aren’t the only characters of the book. We’re introduced to Jackie’s friends at school and Cole’s friends and “girlfriends”.  I couldn’t keep track. Also, I felt the problems were unpredictable. An unpredictable incident would be thrown in when it was unnecessary. I haven’t dealt with many love triangles while reading but this love triangle just didn’t work. Just Alex and Jackie would have made a great story.
That’s my opinion summed up without spoilers. Let’s talk, what did you think of this book?

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Leave a Reply

