Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews



booktitle
 Title:
 Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

 Author: Jesse Andrews
 Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary , Humor

Publisher:  Amulet Books
Publication Date: March 1st 2012
Kindle Edition: 308 Pages

 My Rating: ★★★  

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Goodreads Summary:

Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.


ATTENTION: SPOILERS!!!!!!!!! 

review

I devoured this and I am proud. I have all the feels for this book. I would re-read it over and over again. Greg Gaines is our narrator and the way he is narrating this is brilliant. I liked the way that he wrote in second person and it felt like I was just having a conversation with him or listening to him speak to a large crowd. His awkwardness and stupidity made me laugh-out-loud, as well as the profanity. But, I was drawn back when he made negative comments about himself. His self-esteem issues made me a little uncomfortable because I couldn’t really help him.

I could relate to Greg on the level where he got super nervous when his films were mentioned, b/c he didn’t want anyone to know about them. I happen to get that same feeling about my YouTube/Booktube channel because I may care a little about what people think. But, in the end his films do work out for the best. I wasn’t expecting this book to take the film route and I really enjoyed that it did!

Earl is a great character. He’s my favorite. Even though he has a rough life and doesn’t apply himself much, Greg is right: Earl is very smart. He’s super inspiring and I didn’t think that I would get that from him. I’m glad I did.

This story really captures the thoughts of a high school senior. Most kids are in high school just to get by and that was Greg. I liked his approach to not being friends with anyone. But, that’s pretty hard to do. The relationship Greg and Earl have with Mr. McCarthy was nice. It’s always nice to see adult interaction/relationships.

Rachel.…I don’t even know where to start. I’m just going to say that my heart dropped many times and it dropped a last time when we hear the news. Ugh. Rachel was great for Greg and I just loved their friendship. Although there was sadness, like much sadness there was comic relief that balanced it.

The ending or the epilogue I was surprised by. I was not thinking that he was writing the book for Uni. of Pitt readmission. Actually, I didn’t really have any predictions.

This was an amazing read. I am so glad I read it.

quotes

“I mostly hate every person I’ve ever been.” 

“When you convert a good book to a film, stupid things happen”  

1422636102981.cached

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015 | Under Review

  2. Pingback: Top 15 Best Books of 2015 | Under Review

  3. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Book Survey | Under Review

Leave a Reply

