Armchair BEA: Character Chatter & Blogging Tips!


Armchair BEA

Today’s subjects are Character Chatter and Blogging 101. I’m participating in both topics today!

Character Chatter

Who’s your favorite couple? Peter K & Lara Jean Song Covey from the To All the Boys..duology. I’ve established them to be my favorite as I just finished the book last night 🙂 

What are the components of a well written character? Personality. I think personality is key and it goes along with dialogue.They don’t have to be perfect, but realistic & relatable. They have a family, likes and dislikes, responsibility, etc. I personally love witty characters.  

Since finishing PS I Still Love You, Lara Jean is in my head. So I’m going to write about her. Also, she’s a diverse character. Lara Jean is Korean and she loves to stay at home with her family along with braiding her hair, scrapbooking, volunteering at a retirement home and she loves throwing parties. She also has some flaws where she’s just always paranoid and over thinking things. But, to me she’s very relatable because most characters in YA aren’t at home, they’re usually out all of the time. When I was in high school, I was similar to her and still kind of am. I love staying at home with my family most of the time opposed to going out. 

Blogging Q&A. 

Blogging 101. All kinds of tips and tricks to get you started or keep you going. Talk about ARCs, reviewing in general, web design, etc.  What blogging platform do you use? How do you network? What are some of your favorite web designs?  Or maybe you want to talk about your own blogging journey, and how you got to where you are now. Either way, we want you to share your knowledge with the rest of the community!

  • I use WordPress but when I first started blogging I was on Blogspot/Blogger. I chose to switch just because I felt I wasn’t getting anywhere and no one was really seeing my posts. I love WP now. I would say to choose WP as a start.
  • Don’t even ask me about web design… I change mine a lot. But, when I’m looking I look for one that looks good to me. Usually if I can display my social media links in icons and has the colors I like. I’m really satisfied with mine right now.
  • A tip I would give is to participate in memes. I love Top Ten Tuesday hosted by Broke and Bookish, it’s a great way to get started and interact with other book bloggers. It’s a topic each week pertaining to books!

 

2 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Character Chatter & Blogging Tips!

  1. Great blogging tips (and I love what you said about characters and personality). I have a WP archive book review site, but am the opposite of you. I prefer Blogger. Primarily because WP (unless you have the .com option) costs to personalize your design. Blogger lets you edit the HTML which is awesome. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

