Spoiler Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han



booktitle
 Title:
 P.S. I Still Love You

 Author: Jenny Han 
 Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher:  Simon & Shuster
Publication Date: May 26th 2015
Hardcover: 337 Pages

 My Rating: ★★★  

P.S. I Still Love You

Goodreads Summary:

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

Before reading & during, I wrote down some predictions. 
  • Mr. Covey will have a girlfriend.
  • Lara Jean will get a call from John Ambrose McClaren
  • Stormy dies and John Ambrose McClaren turns out to be her grandson.
review
This book was everything I was hoping it would be and better. I read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before before reading this book, so everything was fresh in my head.
Lara Jean and Peter kiss and make up and become an official couple. Peter made me want to actually hug the book. He was so cute and nice to Lara Jean and I love how he really wants her to open up and just live. They’ve became my favorite couple, ever as of now! I love their Starbucks study dates, phone calls, etc! I missed Peter K tons and this just made me love him all over again.
I liked how Jenny Han tied Social Media into this book like Instagram, when the video gets posted. I liked to see that, it made it very 21st century & realistic because that does happen.
I liked that most of the characters from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before had bigger roles this time. Margot was there and I grew to like her. We really got to see how close Margot and Lara Jean were without any of Margot’s snarkiness. RIP MARGOT & JOSH. I was really happy for Josh though, but I wanted more of him 😦 Chris had more dialogue because it seemed like she was around more which I enjoyed. Kitty! She had her own problems like trying to set up her father with Ms. Rothschild and she turned 10! She’s just hilarious, probably my favorite character.
We’re introduced to John Ambrose McClaren – which I was really happy about – he was such a gentlemen, but I still shipped Lara Jean with Peter all the way. I had a feeling that he was going to appear because Jenny Han had noted that a character comes back or something. I literally squealed when I saw his letter. EEK!!! I totally predicted John being Stormy’s grandson, I wrote it down as a prediction immediately. I loved the retirement home, Stormy was such a BA. But, the snow in April?? what? I would’ve liked a cuter date-like moment for LJ & John.
I love LJ’s crafty side. She always makes me want to take up scrapbooking or become a better baker. I’m always wanting the treats she makes and just to be her! Valentines Day was adorbs —another part where Peter was super cute! She also became a better sister, she did lots for Kitty. 
This book was really all about Lara Jean finding herself and reflecting on her childhood *friends*. Their tree house from their childhood is being torn down and they open the time capsule. I loved being able to know more about Lara Jean’s childhood, that was a different aspect for me. When they played Assassin’s that was a cool way to develop the story and reconnect some lost characters.
TBH. Gen still bothered me. She’s such a beyotch! I would’ve stood up to her though. I wished Lara Jean did more but it may have caused drama, idunno.
Overall, this book was perfect closure for me! I liked the concept of Old vs. New incorporated into this book. I thought Jenny Han would definitely stump us or leave us hanging. But, it was bittersweet. The last page made me super happy 🙂
LARA JEAN & PETER K FOREVER
13 thoughts on “Spoiler Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

