ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon



everything

 

18692431

 

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Publication Date: September 1st, 2015

I was provided this book by Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. This does not change my opinions.

 

 

 

1

This story was very addicting and developed very well. This may have been the most diverse book that I’ve read this year, or EVER. This book really reminded me of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green minus the sadness.

tumblr_m35v1og7eb1r0k5v4o1_1280_largeMadeline has suffered from SCID (Severe Combined ImmunoDeficiency) ever since she was a baby. This basically means she can’t leave her house because she’s allergic to EVERYTHING. Madeline has gotten a lot of reading in during her lifetime. Oh, and she runs a Tumblr book-review blog. SHE’S THE BEST.

Madeline lives with her mother and her best friend is her nurse, Carla. Her mother was my disliked character, she was very overprotective and crazy. At times, I wished Carla was the mother because she was strict but understanding.

A family moves in next door and the book starts up! Maddy spots a boy and can’t keep her eyes off of him. So, she watches him…day and night. It’s kind of creepy, but it’s worth it!

We find out his name is Olly, he does parkour. He exchanges email with Maddy and their friendship blossoms. I seriously lived for their conversations. I’m a sucker for constant dialogue. They were flirty and funny and just perfect. Olly’s personality was similar to Augustus Waters in many ways. We learn about both characters in full throughout this book – beginning to end. We learn about Olly’s family life, as well.

I don’t want to give too much away, but I will say that Olly & Maddy do develop feelings for each other & IT’S PERFECT. INVITE ME TO THEIR WEDDING, PLEASE! (this is not a spoiler, they do not get married haha)

Overall, this story was outstanding and it’s definitely a book that I will be purchasing. It was everything, everything I need in a book. Plus, there’s charts and graphics. Please go pick it up!

everything-1280x720

 Add on Goodreads | Buy on BookDepository

 

 

9 thoughts on “ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I love the aesthetics of your blog!! I also really enjoyed this book and the little diagrams in the story. The main characters were so endearing 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Book Quotes I’ve Loved from 2015 | Under Review

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: The Best Books I Read In 2015 | Under Review

  4. Pingback: Top 15 Best Books of 2015 | Under Review

  5. Pingback: 2015 End of Year Book Survey | Under Review

  6. Pingback: Ten Young Adult Contemporary Diverse Reads | pucksandpaperbacks

  7. Pingback: TDoB ’16: Pucks and Paperbacks – Unquenchable Reads

Leave a Reply

