Book Review: Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid



booktitle
 Title:
 Never Always Sometimes

 Author: Adi Alsaid
 Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher:  Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: August 4th 2015
Hardcover: 320 Pages

 My Rating: ★☆☆ 

Never Always Sometimes

Goodreads Summary:

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never dye your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

 

review

Julia and Dave are entering their senior year of high school and reflecting on the past, they find their “Nevers List”  that they created their freshman year of high school. This list consists of stereotypical high school cliches such as:

Never Become Prom King 

Never Dye Your Hair A Different Color

Never Hook Up With A Teacher

They have a change of heart and decide to make their senior year more eventful and complete the Nevers List. This results in many adventures and new memories.  Julia and Dave’s friendship changes a lot throughout the time that they are completing the Nevers List.  Romantic interests, new friends, new ideas, and more. Julia is very witty and sarcastic most of the time, so I can assure you that you will be giggling.

Dave and Julia’s perspectives are split up, so we are told the story in two different ways.

Family is another part of this story, Dave had lost his mother and he is living with his father – who is still coping – and his older brother, Brett.  As for Julia, she is being raised by her father’s; her mother is away traveling and being adventurous and Julia has to deal with having her heartbroken when her mother constantly doesn’t come visit she she says she will.

I rated this book 3/5 stars on Goodreads because I did not enjoy it as much as I hoped I would, I was annoyed with Julia throughout the book because of her bossiness & Dave followed her around. This wasn’t to my liking, but it may be to yours!

*SPOILER SECTION*

I enjoyed little things about this book, but I did not like it as much as I hoped to. Julia did bother me most of the time because she was very bossy and had Dave wrapped around her finger, he followed her everywhere and never left her side. Along with the fact that he did what she said; i.e. dying his hair green. Julia really bothered me and I felt that this book needed to more to it. It felt like the romance between Dave and Julia wasn’t needed because it only lasted for a few chapters and resulted in disaster.

The results after completing each Never were very interesting, i.e. the tree house, promposal. However, I felt some of it was unrealistic. I questioned why none of the faculty said anything about the tree house.. Realistically, you wouldn’t be able to build a treehouse on school grounds. It was a fun idea, but I wondered about the consequences.  As for the promposal, it was amazing! probably my favorite part of the book.

Gretchen was a great addition, but I felt that I didn’t get her personality and appearance. She just felt like she had the qualities Julia did, but I was confused because she was mentioned as a bookworm and then a blond-haired soccer player and it just didn’t add up.  I really wish that the book had been Gretchen and Dave’s relationship rather than a relationship between Julia and Dave AND Gretchen and Dave.

Brett was another great addition to the book, I liked how brotherly he was toward Dave, he was very good to Dave despite the times he didn’t want to do things for him. I really wished his feelings toward Julia were focused on more.

I really feel that this book needed more to it because I didn’t feel like I had closure and I was confused by somethings, which I mentioned.

Have you read this? What were your thoughts? 

 Buy on BookDepository

nvralwysreview

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid

Leave a Reply

