REVIEW & GIVEAWAY {US & CAN} – The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood // spoiler free //



booktitle
 Title:
 The Square Root of Summer 

 Author: Harriet Reuter Hapgood
 Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary, Time Travel

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016

 My Rating: ★★.5

Isla and the Happily Ever After

My heart is a kaleidoscope, and when we kiss it makes my world unravel . . .

Last summer, Gottie’s life fell apart. Her beloved grandfather Grey died and Jason left her – the boy to whom she lost her virginity (and her heart) – and he wouldn’t even hold her hand at the funeral! This summer, still reeling from twin heartbreaks, Gottie is lost and alone and burying herself in equations. Until, after five years absence, Thomas comes home: former boy next door. Former best friend. Former everything. And as life turns upside down again she starts to experience strange blips in time – back to last summer, back to what she should have seen then . . .

During one long, hazy summer, Gottie navigates grief, world-stopping kisses and rips in the space-time continuum, as she tries to reconcile her first heartbreak with her last.

The Square Root of Summer is an astounding and moving debut from Harriet Reuter Hapgood.

**I was sent this book from Macmillan & Fierce Reads for an honest review, this does not change my opinion!**

 

Meet Margot (Gottie), 17 – she’s dealing with the loss of her grandfather and having her childhood best friend, Thomas who move to Canada four years before, as well as her mother dying after she was born. She’s been through a lot. 

Grief is the main theme of this story. Gottie is really struggling with the loss of her grandfather, Grey. whom she was very close to. She has blocked out most of her family and friends and is always “daydreaming” which results in her missing a lot of life moments. She learns how her grieving has affected her life including her family and friends.  When she finds her grandfather’s diaries in his car, her world changes and she is able to go back to the memories that Grey wrote about.

Gottie’s summer is about to get very interesting when her Papa tells her that Thomas is coming to stay with them for the summer due to his parent’s divorce. Many thoughts fill her head, knowing that they haven’t kept in contact much. Friendship becomes another major theme in this story. Thomas and Gottie rekindle their friendship from the time they made a blood pact in the tree house.

Gottie deals with many emotions, such as lots of heartbreak especially when dealing with seeing her ex-boyfriend, Jason again who she resents because he wasn’t there for her after Grey’s death and kept his distance from her.


Gottie learns many life lessons throughout this story, and I really enjoyed seeing her as a character and develop throughout the summer. She learns a lot about herself and what has really gone on since Grey’s death.

This story is all about watching the pieces fit together while you’re trying to figure out what is going on throughout the story. As well as getting to see the memories Gottie is reliving – which I think really helped her cope with the loss of Grey.  She is really seeing how everyone has mourned in different ways.

In terms of realistic fiction, this story felt very realistic. I was very pleased to see that Harriet Reuter Hapgood had a scene in her story where Gottie gets her period. Of all the contemporary novels I have read. I have not read ONE where the female MC gets her period. I was so, so happy with this!!

Gottie is a very complex character who has been through a lot of hard times such as love, having sex, and losing her mother and grandfather. Gottie felt like a very real character because of all the feelings and actions she encounters.

My favorite character was Gottie’s brother, Ned. We don’t get to see him as much as I wanted to but his brotherly-ness was shown greatly. As much as there are side characters (Sof, Meg, Jason, Ned, Papa, Thomas, etc.) the story is really all about Gottie.


This was my first time-travel book, so it’s really hard to judge the time travel aspect of this book. However, I really enjoyed how it was written and executed.

German is incorporated into the story due to the author’s background. I was constantly looking up what certain words meant, which helped me be educated! Though, it would’ve been nice for some English translation. As well as the setting in England, the slang was in UK terms.

The ending was my favorite part of this story! It was executed very well and I wasn’t expecting it to be the way it was. I enjoyed that friendship was key in this story from beginning to end. Time travel becomes a big role as we near the end of the story!


Overall, I enjoyed reading this book despite some flaws I found while reading. I felt very confused about the story and felt like I missed something, completely? We’re meant to feel like we’re in Gottie’s head and her fog –though it still confused me. I had a hard time compiling my thoughts after reading because I was really confused on what happened. Nonetheless, I enjoyed many of the other aspects of this book and I would still recommend it!

 


3

This giveaway is open to my blog followers and subscribers!

CLICK GIVEWAY TO ENTER. 

In honor of the release date, I’m working with Macmillan to giveaway one copy of The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood!

I made a video reviewing the book and announcing the giveaway! I wanted to make it far and offer the giveaway to not just my subscribers, but my blog followers too!

I am using Rafflecopter to host the giveaway. Everything is there for you to enter, many opportunities!

 WHEN: May 2nd – May 9th – You have a week to enter!

Mandatory Rules: 

      1. Must be a US or Canada resident.
      2. 18 or over // parent’s permission (We need to get your address!)
      3. Must be subscribed to my channel.
      4. Must be following my blog (mail, Bloglovin or WordPress)
      5. For blog followers (or both!) leave a comment on my review post.
      6. COMPLETE RAFFLECOPTER

GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE AND THANK YOU FOR ENTERING :DD

 

 

5 thoughts on “REVIEW & GIVEAWAY {US & CAN} – The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood // spoiler free //

  1. Pingback: Review // The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood – Childishly Passionate

  2. Pingback: April Wrap Up // MAY TBR | Under Review

Leave a Reply

