SEPTEMBER WRAP UP 2016


September is over? It was so quick! However, now that September is over I can read my October TBR! During September I read three books which were pretty good books! I felt that I should share these with you, also because I posted a  DiverseAThon TBR! Let’s get started 🙂

17838528Toward the beginning of the month I was finishing up TUE for my bookclub, The Story Squad’s liveshow.

I really enjoyed this book and it’s vast characters. I really loved the friend group that Andie had, every time they went to The Orchard or the diner I felt like I was apart of the group.

My favorite scene was the scavenger hunt, it was so much fun to read! When they first announced a scavenger hut at the end of the summer I couldn’t wait to get up to that part. I have only read Amy & Roger so I didn’t get the easter eggs too much but it was fun to see some characters from Morgan’s other books.

Overall, I rated it 4 stars because of how predictable the story felt, I always guessed everything!! Though, it was a totally swoon worthy romance and I enjoyed the friendship group & character development very much.Book Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson // spoiler free//

22701879

 

This book was my DiverseAThon read and I absolutely loved it! I got this book from a Uppercase last year and I never got around to read it. I’m so glad that I did. I had saw Alex @ TheBooksBuzz raving about how this was her favorite book and so I had to pick it up.

This is about Parker and she is blind. She was in a car accident when she was young and lost her sight. Throughout this book we get to see the world how Parker sees it. She goes on a date and is dealing with the loss of her father.

Parker is super snarky and witty and I LOVED HER. I love having real characters especially one with a disability who just wants to be like everyone else. She has Rules for everyone to follow which are awesome. She’s really just a blind protagonist who doesn’t want pity or anyone to stop their lives for her. Parker is also a runner which was amazing!! I love seeing characters with a disability who are just normal people! 5 stars. 

Anyway, if you haven’t read this yet..I suggest that you do!!

28220960

Last, I read The Memory of Things by Gae Polisner which is a 9/11 based Young Adult Fiction book which just came out this month.

Kyle’s school is evacuated when the first plane hits. As he’s walking home, he finds a girl wearing wings and takes her home when he realizes she has amnesia; she doesn’t even know her name.

Kyle goes through a lot in this book in relation to the Towers falling down he has to run the house. His mother and sister are stuck in California and there are no flights going out. He has to take care of his Uncle Matt who is paralyzed from a motorcycle accident. And he’s waiting on updates from his father who is helping with the aftermath of 9/11.

I liked this book but I was really thrown off when romance was tied into it. Knowing that it was a Contemporary I already knew that romance would be written in, but I just didn’t feel it. Also because 9/11 is such a big topic that I felt romance threw the story off.


 

I really enjoyed my reading this month! I read some good books and now I can’t wait to read my October TBR! Which of these books would you like a review for & would you like to see my wrap-up in video form? Let me know!

 

2 thoughts on “SEPTEMBER WRAP UP 2016

    1. It took me two months to read. The beginning was slow, so I totally understand! I was really thrown off and keep being like “ehh i don’t want to read this” mainly because of the no mother figure, I hate that trope because I feel like I always am reading about it. You just need to get past the first 100 pages and then the story is set up & you will fly through it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

