Book Review: Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom


22701879

Title: Not If I See You First

Author: Eric Lindstrom

 Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary

Publisher: Poppy
Publication Date: December 1st, 2015
Hardcover: 310 pages

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A Little Something Different

 

TIGHT KNIT SWEATERS

This is the first book that I have read that has a blind female protagonist and she was awesome. Parker Grant is my new favorite female character that I’ve read this year and I’m going to tell you why.

Parker is just a normal teenager trying to get through high school. She’s blind from an car accident involving her, her mother and father.  She’s tough and doesn’t want anyone’s pity. She just wants to be a normal girl. She’s hilarious and a good friend.

I loved that this book was in the POV of Parker. We get to feel like we are in her shoes and see how she lives her life. She has many obstacles due to her disability. She has to have text tones for people in her phone so she knows who is texting and calling her. She walks with a cane and deals with bullying in her school. She doesn’t even know when it’s going on.

This book doesn’t heavily focus on romance which I LOVED! I do love romance but I was glad to be able to know Parker rather than worry about her and a relationship. She does date and we get to see how different that is than a person who can see. We get to see how Parker likes someone for THEM and not for LOOKS. *claps* Her friends say to her, how do you know you like him if you don’t know what he looks like? Ugh, that made me love this book entirely.

Parker is a runner and she tries out for the track team at her school. She learns she needs a guide to help her.

I loved this book. Parker is such a sassy character and I love her for that. I was able to really be in Parker’s shoes as I saw the obstacles she’s faced on a daily basis due to being blind. Everyone needs to experience Parker! This is an excellent YA book about disability and I highly recommend!!
MY VIDEO:  

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

Leave a Reply

