Books That Focus on Bullying #AntiBullyingWeek


It’s Anti Bullying Week (Nov 14 – 20th) and I will be taking part in the Anti Bullying Readathon hosted by Sarah Churchill. I love this readathon and bullying is  a theme that I am very passionate about due to personal experience.

I’m currently reading If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo for the readathon.

I’ll be recommending some books I like that feature bullying and books I want to read that feature bullying. Feel free to comment some of your own!

* click the book title to go to the review.

BOOKS I RECOMMEND: 

Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom – Parker is your blind female protagonist. She’s sassy and doesn’t want your pity. She’s a runner and she’s damn good at it. We see Parker get bullied by kids in her school taking advantage of her because she’s blind. I loved this story because it was so different! Read my review for more!

True Letters From A Fictional Life by Kenneth Logan – In this book, we see James Liddel contemplating his sexuality. A character in this book gets bullied severely for his sexuality and it becomes a main focus of this story. It definitely scared me, but I liked the realness of it. I like when books featuring LGBTQIA+ show the other side of being gay in high school rather than just being accepted and everyone is nice and kind about it.

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin – I still need to write a review for this and it’s crazy because it’s my favorite of the year! It deals with a gender-fluid teen called Riley and Riley deals with bullying in a real life situation. It also has many other lgbtqia+ elements. If you haven’t read this, you have to!!

Geek Girl by Holly Smale This is one of my favorite books featuring bullying and standing up for yourself. Harriet is a nerd and gets picked on for her enormous vocabulary and knowing many random facts. She gets picked up to be a model and it’s hilarious!

Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen – This was my first Sarah Dessen book and the only one I’ve read so far. It dealt with bullying in a way that our MC Colie is struggling with finding what friendship really is. She gets bullied for her weight and is called a “slut” in school. This was such a cute book and I loved the message!

BOOKS I WANT TO READ 

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio – This book has been on my radar recently since I’ve been wanting to read more books in the LGBTQIA+ genre.

A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she was born intersex… and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above is a thought-provoking novel that explores what it means to be a boy, a girl, or something in between.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson I’ve started reading this but time and other books are in the way! I’ve heard such great reviews about it.

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy – I only got about 50+ pages into this book and I’m not entirely sure if bullying is involved but I know it deals with body image. I’d like to finish it up!

Wonder by R.J. Palacio I feel like I’m the only person who hasn’t read this book! It’s definitely a book I want to get to in 2017.

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?


What’s a book you would recommend for AntiBullyingWeek??

 

4 thoughts on “Books That Focus on Bullying #AntiBullyingWeek

  1. I love this list! Symptoms of Being Human and the whole Geek Girl series was amazing, and Keeping the Moon was okay, but I can definitely see why you put it on. I’ll Give You the Sun is also a great read, and Wonder is one of my all-time favourites- hope you enjoy!😊

    Like

    1. I read Speak during 9th grade, it was really impactful! I want to read it again because I don’t fully remember the book. I’ve put this song will save your life on another bullying list last year I think, it’s one of my favorite books!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

