December TBR & Diversity December Bingo!


dectbr

I can’t believe the year is almost over and I’m so behind on reading. I’m going to try to read one to two books a week to finish my reading because I do need to read for YA Booktube Awards which I’m apart of. I’m judging the LGBTQIA+ genre and Contemporary Romance. Voting ends DEC 31ST. Vote for your favorite book released in 2016. vote here.

As for November, I read a total of one novel and one graphic novel. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo which I gave four stars only because I wish there was more closure with some characters. Then, for my Lit & Film class, I read Ghost World by Daniel Clowes and I gave it 3 stars, it was confusing not really what I expected.

Here’s my anticipated TBR for December. This month I’m doing Vlogmas on my Booktube channel and a bookstagram challenge on my IG: pucksandpaperbacks.


DIVERSITY DEC BINGO – I am so excited for this readathon! This was created by a bunch of amazing book bloggers! They’re listed on the sheet. They’re encouraging you to pick a spot on the bingo board and read a book for each throughout the month of December. Chat on Twitter and find some recs!

Here’s my TBR! I will be trying to accomplish the middle row where it says FREE SPACE. If
I can, I’ll try others for fun!

-click the book cover to go to it’s Goodreads page-

cwtdx_iuqaakwxe

Refugee Main Character:  SALT TO THE SEA by Ruta Sepetys – This was recommended on the Twitter hastag #diversitydecbingo and I’ve always wanted to read this since it was so popular this year! Here’s my chance to read it.

Image result for salt to the sea ruta sepetys

Transgender Main Character: Image result for when the moon was ours by anna-marie mclemore

Disabled Main Character: Kids of Appetite by David Arnold, Vic has Moebius Syndrome, which is characterized by complete or partial facial paralysis.  I wanted to read a book about a disability I haven’t heard of before. I could also read Jennifer Niven’s new book, Holding up the Universe.

 

Biracial Main Character:  I know that the character, Daniel is mixed race, but I know Natasha is just Jamaican. I’ve read Everything Everything, hit me with a recommendation for this! Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

F/F Romance: I’ve wanted to read a f/f romance anyway since it’s so rare to read! On Twitter, Becky Albertalli recommended Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown. I always trust Becky when she recommends a book! This is also an #ownvoices book!

Image result for Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruits by Robin Jaye Brown


A Very Merry Readathon (dec. 5th to dec. 9th) – Hosted on BookTube by Tiny Book Dragon and co-hosted by The Owlery, A Cup of Wonderland, BookaflixTaylor, and The Bookish Babbler.

Reading Challenges:
1. Read a book that takes place during the holiday season
2. Read a book with Christmas colors on the cover (such as red, green, white, silver, and/or gold)
3. Read a book just because you want to

This is my finals week, so I’m not sure how much reading  I will get finished but i want to start a holiday book during this week. I want to pick up The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan. 

26258306


This is what I’m hoping to read this month along with Heartless by Marissa Meyer for my book club, THE STORY SQUAD. Please leave me a rec if you can, happy reading!

3 thoughts on “December TBR & Diversity December Bingo!

Leave a Reply

