Ten Least Favorite Young Adult Books of 2016


Hi, everyone! I hope you all are having a great day and had a great holiday. I’m starting my Books of 2016 posts while I’m taking a week off of making videos on my Booktube channel since I did Vlogmas this month.

This reading year has been up and down for me. I have read some good books and some disappointing books. I’ve only given out a few 5 stars to the books I’ve read. Here are the books that I disliked this year. All the books listed I gave a rating of 2-3 stars on Goodreads.

DISCLAIMER: These are all of my honest thoughts and opinions on these books. If you enjoyed these books, I am so glad for you because I didn’t. Please be kind in the comments and respect my opinions. Thank you!

1. Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan – I did not finish this book really because of Lily’s character which was only about a few chapters in. I couldn’t stand her and to be honest I think I want Dash & Lily to be by itself rather than a duo.

2.The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion – 2016 was not the year of reading great sequels. Are sequels in duologies even good? I didn’t like this because Rosie was making me mad, I know she’s hormonal but how do you NOT want Don in the future of your lives?? Ugh.

3.The Haters by Jesse Andrews – I was very disappointed in this read. I was so excited to read another Jesse Andrew book because Me and Earl and the Dying Girl was so, so great! However, I went into this thinking road trip and they really only stopped at a few places. Also, the dirty jokes were TOO excessive.

4. This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp – This book was a good book to pick up because it was diverse (POC, f/f relationship) and it was informative. If you were unaware, this book is about a school shooting in multiple pov’s of students during the time it’s happening. However, it fell flat for me and I know we couldn’t get too much character development or anything since it was set during a short period of time. I don’t have experience of witnessing a school shooting but I just felt itย was predictable and did not have much of a surprise or shock factor.

5.The Memory of Things by Gae Polisner – This book is set during the few days after 9/11 of a boy who meets a girl with wings on the streets of NYC after the first building as collapsed and so forth. I haven’t read a book set during 9.11 but I wanted to. I liked being able to read a character who has experienced 9.11 since I was so young, I don’t know too much. However, the romance tie-in was what threw me off and I just couldn’t get into it. I felt as such a serious topic, romance was the last thing we needed to be worrying about.

6.With Malice by Eileen Cook – I did enjoy this book very much. It was super thrilling and I devoured it. But, it’s on this list because I gave it a low rating due to the fact of the ending. I’m going to be brief about this because of spoilers. But, it just didn’t satisfy me and I wasn’t happy.

7.The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood – I was sent this book from Macmillan to honestly review and I wasn’t a fan of it. It was pitched as a time travel contemporary and the time travel was more of wormholes to memories than time travel. I liked the overall message of grief and how you can be a different person when you’re grieving and I really liked the ending. Just fell flat for me, really.

8.Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman – ย This was my first Western-like book that I have ever read. So, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I felt like it was just a story with a beginning, middle and end that was all the author wanted to accomplish. I just wanted more to the story, really. I did like the overall Western vibes and #girlpower.

9.Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin – Oh man.. I never say I disliked or hated a book but this is one I could NOT stand. I actually hated it so much. Which was sad because I never want to say that about a book. I didn’t like the world of the after life and I didn’t agree with the rules. Also, the main character was very whiny and so mean to her grandmother who she never knew!! She was so rude. Oh, I couldn’t stand her.

10. Never Never Part #3ย by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher – I was really excited for this because YAY!! last story! finally know what happens!!! THE ENDING MADE ME SOOOOO ANGRY. LIKE, WHY! I READ ALL OF THESE TO FIND OUT AND THAT’S ALL YOU GIVE ME. WHAT. Omg, this made me so angry…as you can see.


Okay, enough ranting for this post! Let me know your kind thoughts on any of these books! What was your most disappointing read of the year? xx

Add me on Goodreads.

16 thoughts on “Ten Least Favorite Young Adult Books of 2016

  1. I read Dash & Lily in middle school or early on in high school and I remember really enjoying it, though I have a feeling that if I reread it now that I’m in college I would have a different opinion. I definitely don’t think I’m going to read the sequel :/ Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I’ve not read any of these, but I agree with the duology thing – the second book in a two part series is often going to be bad since authors will write a debut YA contemporary and try to write a second part without completely thinking it through in a lot of cases, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There’s nothing more soul-crushing than when you realise a book isn’t as good as you thought it would be. I think that’s the danger when a first book in a duology is so good. I didn’t read much YA in 2016, but I read The Sky is Everywhere and I really didn’t like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

