Heartless by Marissa Meyer *SPOILER FREE* REVIEW


b54ed641-ea27-4127-a2e4-e152c87d41dbimg400

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Macmillan

Pub. date: Nov. 8, 2016

Rating: 4.5 /5 Stars

Goodreads

 

Heartless is a YA Retelling of the Queen of Hearts, the well-known villain  from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Heartless follows Cath and her journey to becoming the Queen of Hearts. There’s romance, action and the beloved characters from the story, Alice in Wonderland. You have the Mad Hatter, The Cheshire Cat, and even Mr. Caterpillar!

Related image

To be fair, I cannot be much of a critic for this story since it was my first retelling, ever and my first Marissa Meyer book. However, I did throughly enjoy this story! It was out of my comfort zone and it was so much fun!

I listened to this story on audiobook and I believe audio is the way to go with this story! The narrator, Rebecca Soler (also the voice for TLC) nailed all of the character’s voices which made the reading experience even better! I did feel the story being slow and once I picked up the audio, I finished the book that day!

I did feel this was a 5 star book once I read it, but after I let my thoughts soak-in and I really thought about it and discussed it with my friends for our book club, The Story Squad..I believe it wasn’t quite 5 stars only because I feel you need to be a die-hard/know much knowledge about the world of Hearts to fully understand the references. I had my e-reader as well to look up things I didn’t know such as Knave means Jack (Jack, Knave of Hearts!) But, I also didn’t know all about the word of Hearts and so some of the references about the world I missed.

Jest, the love interest made me SWOON!! He was a love and hate character. At times, I felt myself going “ooh, I loooove you Jest!” and other times, “OMG! I haaatttee you Jest!” He is definitely a new book boyfriend for me! I loved his relationship with Cath.

Overall, my favorite character was the Cheshire Cat. He was a riot!! He had me laughing out loud, so much. Image result for alice in wonderland gifs

I definitely recommend to pick up this book on audio. It’s really worth it and brings the characters to life.


Have you read Heartless? What did you think?

Related image

3 thoughts on “Heartless by Marissa Meyer *SPOILER FREE* REVIEW

  1. Great review! I have also written a review of this, if you’re interested. I totally agree with what you have said, I also thought it was a bit slow for the first half of the book, but I still enjoyed it. Not as good as the author’s Luna Chronicles series, which I highly recommend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

