Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West NO SPOILERS!


30256248

Title: By Your Side
Author:  Kasie West
Paperback: 352 pages
Publication Date: January 31, 2017
Genre: Contemporary/Romance, Young Adult
Rating: star icon star icon star icon star icon star icon

Image result for add to goodreads

 

 

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


As all of Kasie West’s books, I devoured this one. However, I felt that the first hundred pages were very slow which were the library scenes. That disappointed me because I was really excited about the storyline of Autumn being stuck in a library over the weekend.

Yet again, West hits you with the feels. I felt so many feelings in this book and  I couldn’t contain myself. Swoony feels, OMG WHY SHE IS DOING THIS WHAT feels, and last I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO CRY A RIVER. But, jokes on you because I didn’t. WHY DON’T I CRY AT BOOKS!?!
Related image
I love when books do this to me, I was so connected to all of the characters; Dax, Autumn and even Jeff. I was reading this until almost 3am one night because I really couldn’t stop reading it. Kasie West does that to me and I’m okay with it! Also, can I just mention how I hated her friend group? They were stuck up, just like Gia’s friends in THE FILL IN BOYFRIEND.  Why would they leave her at the library if they already knew she was in there? Hm!
This is where I’ll bring up Dallin, Jeff’s friend…Gah! I hated him. So, so much. He was such a jerk and he didn’t even apologize to Autumn for his actions and words he said to her. Ugh, I was yelling at the book when Dallin would show up.
 I really liked how this book was just like a roller coaster, it didn’t stay in one direction it had its twists and turns to the story. I really thought this was just going to be a story about a girl and boy who get stuck in a library for the whole story. They are stuck during a three day weekend without any connection to the outside world and have to really use their survival skills. Like, no phone connections and eating out of a vending machine with little cash.
Image result for rollercoaster gif
The story really turns around to be something else and I really liked that it did because quite frankly, I would’ve been bored. The library scenes bored me and I’m sad. But, like I said the story turned around for me! I really love the direction the story went and I was on the edge of my seat (like on a rollercoaster, see the analogy?!)
I was also as torn between Jeff and Dax like Autumn was. I felt like I was Autumn throughout the story and I really had a connection to her. I’d be friends with her 🙂 I loved Dax, he reminded me of Jess from Gilmore Girls because he loves to read and he’s shy but super witty. NEW BOOK BAE ALERT!! And Jeff reminded me of Logan because he was very adventurous.Though, I made my decision with Jeff at the end. He was actually a sweet guy and I like what he did for Autumn in the end. So don’t worry, I’m totally #TeamDax!
Image result for jess mariano gif humor
Anyway, I highly recommend it was so good and probably my second favorite West book. I also want to point out that there is some mental health related in this book which I LOVED *claps all around* I am so glad that Kasie is bringing more diversity into her books. As well as implementing a character who is in the foster care system *claps again*. Foster care is SUCH an important topic that I feel is underrated *i’m passionate about* and I’m so glad Kasie choose to put this into By Your Side because it’s SOO NEEDED IN YA!!!

This gif explains my feelings in all:

Related image


If you’re going to comment a spoiler, please put spoiler before writing! I don’t want anyone to get spoiled. Okay?

Image result for pinky promise gif

What did you think of By Your Side or are you now more excited to read it??

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West NO SPOILERS!

Leave a Reply

