Love-A-Thon Introduction!


Displaying 2017 Love-A-Thon graphic.png
The Love-a-Thon is an event dedicated to spreading positivity and love. It’s time dedicated to visiting other bloggers/Instagrammers/BookTubers, leaving a comment or two, making new friends and fostering positivity among the members of our amazing community. As in the previous years, the event will include mini challenges, Twitter chats and giveaways galore! The full schedule will be sent to you when you’ve signed up, so you can start preparing your posts in advance.  (Alexa Loves Books)

Dates: February 18, 12AM EST – February 20, 12AM EST

Hosted by: Alexa of Alexa Loves Books, Cee of The Novel Hermit, Kristin of Super Space Chick & Mel of The Daily Prophecy


The first post is to answer the questionnaire. This is an introduction to my blog and to get to know me better!

An Introduction to You and Your Blog

IMG_5766.JPG

  1. What’s your name? Where in the world are you blogging from? Hi! I’m Alyssa and I’m blogging from Pennsylvania!
  2. Tell us your history with reading. Were you always a reader? Were you a reluctant reader? Was there a book that convinced you to become a reader? I was a reader when I was younger, my mom always had books for me and we always went to the library. When I grew up, I stopped reading a lot and when I went to high school I started to read John Green. But, not until my first year of college (because of a boy) I started reading books because he did. I brought TFIOS with me and he read some classic. It was cute, but didn’t end well! But, thanks to him — now I’ve been blogging and Booktubing for 2 1/2 years. 
  3. How did you get involved in the online book community? This is a tricky question, I did start a book blog first before I started to Booktube. It was on blogger and I didn’t get any engagement so later I switched over to WordPress. But, I really don’t know I just did it on a whim. But, I was introduced to Booktube by searching for Dana @ The Book Hoarder, I used to watch her other videos before she made Booktube videos.
  4. How did you choose your primary platform (blog, Instagram, YouTube, etc)? How did you come up with your blog name? I had a channel before, I really liked making DIY videos and favorites basically tried to create a “lifestyle/beauty” channel — but I don’t wear make-up?? IDK! But, I also like writing. Blogging seemed fun so I just decided to do both! As for my blog/YT name…I like hockey *pucks* and I like books. It just flowed and I feel like it represents me very well.
  5. What’s your favorite thing about the online book community? I love that everyone interacts and it’s so welcoming. Twitter, especially I’ve met so many friends through there and Instagram. As well as Booktube. So many nice people that I’ve made life-long friends through the community.
  6. What sort of posts can readers expect from you? I most always post spoiler-free reviews. Also, tags and TBRs. I like to participate in Top Ten Tuesday, as well!
  7. What book genres do you talk about most? My go-to/comfort zone genre is Contemporary/Romance. So, I’m usually reviewing those books.

 

Favorites

  1. Favorite food? Beverage? Food – Cheeseburgers are my fave, I like TAZO tea and coffee 🙂anigif_enhanced-buzz-19480-1363387552-19
  2. Favorite color? Orange and Mint Green. Weird combo but yup.
  3. Favorite things to do apart from reading? I like watching hockey and eat out with my family! We like to try different places in our area. Also, taking photos!
  4. Favorite tv shows? I really don’t watch much TV but, Gilmore Girls is my favorite show.anigif_enhanced-buzz-31464-1363393562-4
  5. Favorite movies? The Sandlot, Sixteen Candles, Paper Towns, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I don’t really watch movies often!
  6. Favorite musical artists? 5 Seconds of Summer, All Time Low, the Wonder YearsImage result for 5sos gifs
  7. Favorite places to shop? All my clothes are from American Eagle or Target. As for books, I really love Book Outlet and Amazon. 

 

Book Talk

  1. Favorite childhood books?
  2. Favorite books read in the last five years? 
  3. Favorite genres? Contemporary/Romance, Young Adult, Magical Realism, LGBTQIA+
  4. Underrated book, series or author you love? Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin & Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum!
  5. A book you want to see made into a film or tv show? To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, cause’ it’s my fave and I know it’ll be so good 🙂
  6. Book boyfriend/girlfriend? Book BFF? Book family? Peter K, Hayden, Levi from Fangirl – my book boyfriends. My book family would be the Spiers because I ❤ them. Book bff – Lara Jean 🙂anigif_enhanced-buzz-19478-1363387420-14
  7. Books you want to read in 2017?

 


Thanks for reading, more LoveAThon posts coming!

16 thoughts on “Love-A-Thon Introduction!

  1. Hello, Alyssa! Nice to “meet” you!

    Glad you were able to rediscover reading! It’s nice to bond with your significant other over reading! Hubby and I don’t read the same genre but I have “forced” him to read a few YA titles like The Lunar Chronicles, Throne of Glass, and The Hunger Games… it’s fun talking to him about the books, too!

    Like

  2. I ❤ Gilmore Girls. I used to watch it every week with my mom. Then when I got married and moved away we always made sure to binge watch episodes when she'd come out to visit. Anyway, I'm really glad you were able to get back into reading and decided to join the book community.

    Like

  3. Hi! I noticed you seem to read a lot of contemporary books and since this is a genre I tend to shy away from (it’s just hard for me to really get into for some reason) I hope to be able to try some of the ones you mentioned since it appears you really enjoy them(:

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TAZO tea is my favorite too! I cannot go to the grocery store without picking up a new box 🙂 And I’m also SO excited for Always and Forever Lara Jean<3!

    Like

  5. Great intro post. Orange is my second favorite color and mint green is also nice. I think they could work really nice together. I forgot all about the Mouse and the Motorcycle! I had way too many kid favorites 😉 All this love for All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is making me super excited to read it next month. I’m sure I will love it too because Jenny Han’s writing and characters have been amazing so far.

    Like

  6. I’m re-watching Gilmore Girls and absolutely loving it! Coffee and tea = ❤ but that is the barista in me stating that! I loved reading your intro and hopefully can stop by more often 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

