Top 5 Wednesday: Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump


wednesday.png

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey @ Gingereadslainey with different bookish topics for each week.

If you’re interested in joining in, see the Goodreads group!

Today’s topic: February 22nd: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump


I haven’t done a T5W in so long! This is my first one of 2017. I had to get on this one because #relatable.  I’ve only been in a slump a few times, and so I have books that have cured me, but also some you should read if you are in one!

20801166

1. A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

This book is confirmed to get you out of a slump! In September of 2015, I was in a slump where I didn’t even finish reading a book the whole month. Until the next month I picked up this book and I was out of the slump! My friend, Karla also read this and it got her out of a slump!

THIS BOOK HAS 14 MULTIPLE POV, SO IF YOU DON’T LIKE THAT…don’t read this! I loved it but I like multiple POV.

 

25486998

 

2. PS I LIKE YOU BY KASIE WEST

I’m going to recommend any Kasie West to help a reading slump since they are quick and cute! Personally, this one got me back into reading after a slumpy month where I only read two books.

This one is predictable, but I really liked it! It was my first Kasie West book EVER.

 

f9cadb5a-6edf-445b-a60a-761e219cde24img4003. The Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy by Jenny Han

As this may not be the best series in the whole wide YA fiction world, it’s still a good and quick series! Two of the three books are set in summer, the second is set in Winter.

It’s an addictive series and it will definitely get you out of a slump! But, you may really dislike the main character, Isabel “Belly” because she is constantly whining and can’t decide between her two love interests, Conrad and Jeremiah.

 

99728384. Every You, Every Me by David Levithan

I feel like David Levithan is my go-to when I am in a reading slump. This book in particular is very quick and short. I recommend it because you could easily read it in one sitting. It follows a boy who thinks he’s being watched when polaroid pictures start showing up of him… The pictures are also included throughout the story which makes it even creepier. Haha!

 

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd5. The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

This book is very fast paced because it’s set during one day. I’m sure you’ve heard about it already, so I’m not going to say too much about the plot. It is a romance with a well-written instalove that you aren’t going to hate.

You are also introduced to the history of hair, and of the MC’s family members. Pick it up if you haven’t and you will be cured of your reading slump..I promise!

 


What book got you out of a reading slump or what do you do when you’re in a slump??

bloggrahpic

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump

  1. PS I like you is so adorable, Kasie West is the best!! I had so much fun reading it. ❤️ And I haven’t read The Sun is Also a Star yet but I’ve heard lots about it and I’ve been meaning to pick it up. Lovely books here!

    Like

  2. I agree with The Sun Is Also A Star. That book is just so so good. I’m excited to read and see for myself on what A Little Something Different must be like. I love books with multiple POVs and I’m surprised that I have not yet picked it up. 🙂 Gosh I really need to read Jenny Han and Kasie West’s books soon. I am probably missing out on a lot of stuff.

    Like

    • A Little Something Different is one of my all time favorite books, it’s so well done! It’s POVs of everyone watching this couple get together when they’re both clueless. There’s also POVs of a squirrel and bench!

      Like

  3. A LITTLE SOMETHING DIFFERENT has a gorgeous cover. I wouldn’t even mind if the book doesn’t work out for me because it will look so pretty on my shelf. I haven’t read PS I LOVE YOU yet, but every time I run across it people love it. I’ve got to hunt this guy down.

    Like

  4. Great list. I recently read a Kasie West book and really liked it. PS I Like you has been on my TBR list for a while. I’ll have to get a copy of it soon. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

