Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman REVIEW


 

Title: Girl Out of Water
Author:  Laura Silverman
Hardback: 320 pages
Publication Date: May 2nd 2017
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: star icon star icon star icon

Image result for add to goodreads

I was sent this book from Sourcebooks through Net Galley for an honest review. This does not change my opinions of the book.

Personally, I felt that this book was very hyped up for me by many other bloggers I know and follow. Anise is ready for the best summer in her home of Santa Cruz to spend with her friends before they leave for college and one for the navy. She expected a great summer full of surfing waves, late night bonfires, and the Surf Break – a big music festival. Her plans drastically change when her Aunt Jackie gets in a horrific car accident and she has to spend her summer in Nebraska babysitting her cousins; Parker, Nash and Emery as well as helping Aunt Jackie around the house.

Image result for tumblr gif surfing

Anise is devastated and sulking throughout her time in Nebraska with her cousins and her father. I really didn’t like Anise’s actions toward her friends and family, she was sulking the whole summer and taking it out on her friends and family members. I think she was selfish, however she made her summer work by taking her cousins to the skate park every day. She learns to appreciate the art of skateboarding to savor her loss of surfing all summer. I really liked the aspect of comparing Anise’s love for surfing with her learning to skateboard. This also had some perks because she meets a local skater, Lincoln – a disabled black character who is an excellent skater despite living with one arm. Lincoln and Anise spark a relationship and go on adventures. I really liked seeing their adventures and the fun spots that Lincoln took her.

1

The writing was concise and I did get some great quotes out of it! I especially liked Lincoln’s character because he pushed Anise and showed her that she didn’t have to lack her sense of adventure just because of her mother’s history. I appreciate this novel for Lincoln and his diversity, as well as the skateboarding and surfing aspect which I don’t see often! I also really loved her cousins, they were a nice and fun touch to the story and I was full of worry for them as Anise was.

We willmiss you!

However, this novel just fell short for me with Anise. She really bothered me and I hated that she pushed away her friends because she was angry about her summer plans being messed up. Then, she came back to Santa Cruz confused why her friends weren’t happy she was there? Like I mentioned, she was selfish but hid it from her cousins. I just didn’t love this as much as I expected to. I would recommend this for a diverse summer read. Diversity elements include a f/f relationship among side characters as well as Lincoln and his brother Austin who are adopted. Lincoln is black and Austin is white, their adopted father is Vietnamese.

2

 

Leave a Reply

