Top Ten Tuesday: Summery Book Recs & On My Summer TBR.


2

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. 

Today’s topic: Summer Reads Freebie: In preparation for Memorial Day (which is always the unofficial summer kickoff for me), let’s rec some summer/beach reads: books to go in your beach bag, best books set in summer, books with summer-y covers, best beach reads for people who don’t enjoy contemporary/realistic reads, best beach reads for fans of X genre, etc. etc.

Image result for summertime gif

I did a Top 5 Wednesday post sharing my top five summer reads, so this is just a continuation & books I want to read this summer!


 

7664334

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson – This book is perfect to read on the beach or if you’re on a long car-ride for summer vacation! I actually read this book on my summer vacation & on the beach.

We follow Amy and Roger’s road trip from California to Connecticut after Amy’s father dies, she’s afraid of driving. Roger helps out and they have a fun, music filled road trip!

This is one of my favorite Morgan Matson books!


15790873

 This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith – This wasn’t a book that I was a fan of, but I know people that have loved it, so I’m recommending it anyway.

This book fits the summer theme perfectly because it’s set during the summer!  Graham and Ellie meet through an accidental email and start an email relationship. Graham turns out to be famous movie star and asks to change the movie set to Ellie’s small town. There’s lots of ice cream and paparazzi involved in this book.

If you want a fluffy summer read, this is the one!  See my review for more.

29640839

 

Girl out of Water by Lara Silverman – 

I recently read this and posted a review, if you want to see more of my thoughts. But, this is about Anise who is a lover of surfing and spends her days on the beach with her friends in her home of Santa Cruz. But, her summer plans are changed when her Aunt Jackie gets in a car accident. Anise and her father have to go to Nebraska to help Aunt Jackie and her children. Anise learns to skateboard and she meets a boy named Lincoln along the way.

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

 

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon – I don’t think this book is set during the summer, but it’s set in NYC and it’s a quick read. I think this would be perfect to read on the beach and it has summery colors.

We follow Natasha and Daniel’s romance during one full day of meeting on an important today for both of them. Natasha is being deported to Jamaica and Daniel is interviewing for Yale. I really enjoyed the set up and this is my favorite Nicola Yoon book!

13406425

Burn for Burn (#1) by Jenny Han, Siobhan Vivian – 

I’ve only read this book but I want to finish the series! This a revenge trilogy following three girls who want to take revenge on certain people that have wronged them. It’s set on Jar Island which fits the summery vibe. But, it’s a good read for the beach!

 


Books on My Summer TBR:

I hope to read more summer books this summer because it seems like I haven’t read enough! What’s your favorite summer read?

Image result for summer gif tumblr

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summery Book Recs & On My Summer TBR.

  1. My favorite summer reads are The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place by E.L. Konigsburg and Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta… I read them nearly every summer ❤ Great list!

    Like

  2. I was listening to that song while writing today’s post lol! Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is on my list too! I loved The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight so The Geography of You and Me is on my tbr.
    Here’s my TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

